Trigger still images (jpegs, etc)?

Really enjoying Ebosuite. I am using it as part of a live solo drum project, triggering all sounds, samples and visuals live in real time from Ableton Live via acoustic drum triggers, Keith McMillen BopPad and Quneo.

I have what is probably a very simple question as I’m new to integrating video triggering in to my set up. If I want to trigger a still image, as opposed to a video, what’s the simplest way to convert this to a HAP file to import in to the esampler? Alternatively would you consider creating an additional device as part of EboSuite that allows still images (jpegs, etc) to be triggered? I imagine it would just have similar envelope and duration controls to the sampler to allow the user to set the time it appears for and the fade, etc. Thanks!

We will add support for image files soon (.png, .jpg etc.). So then you can trigger image files with the eSampler.
Until then you can use Ableton to convert a image file to a movie. Just drag your image on an audio track in Arrangement View. This will open the standard Ableton video window. The image will have a very short duration on the timeline. Drag the right edge of the clip to make it longer (one bar for example). Use Ableton’s ‘Export Audio/Video…’ feature (in the main menu, under File) to export the clip to a movie. Convert this movie to Hap with eConvert.

2 Likes

Thanks a lot. That’s really helpful.

Hi MNDMTH, we just released EboSuite 1.31 that adds support for image files. Have fun!

Download the updated installer here:
http://www.ebostudio.info/EboSuite/EboSuite_Installer_QSG.zip

Thanks. Just downloaded the 1.31 update. The image triggering works great but when I add any eFX device after the eSampler and turn it on it causes the image to flip upside down. Do you know why this is?

Thought maybe I had fixed the upside down issue but it’s still happening with any jpg image as soon as I turn an eFX device on.