eGPU vs Mac M1 integrated graphics

I’m running a 2018 Mac Mini (Intel w/ 32GB) with a Thunderbolt 3 external eGPU Radeon RX Vega 64 8GB. Considering upgrading to some flavor of M1 (or maybe the upcoming M2).

I know the benefits of integrated CPU/GPU are supposed to be game-changing for the average user, even with only 16GB on the memory side. Part of what makes this harder to parse for pro use is that many of the benchmarks are focused on gaming rather production tools like Ebo, Max, Premiere, etc…

Can any of the M1 variants replace or outrun a 32 GB machine with a dedicated eGPU like mine for production applications like Ebo?

Any guidance (especially IRL) is helpful!

Hi Jeff, I have no experience with eGPU, but I have been using a MacBook Pro with M1 Max chip for a while now and I am very happy with the performance. The ProRes codec performs much better as well. That is similar to Hap now.

1 Like

Update: I went ahead and bought a base-model Mac Studio Max.

Testing against the Intel Mac Mini with eGPU, the Radeon card still outperforms the M1… at least according to Activity Monitor and GPU History window. Depending upon the test, the Radeon outpaces the M1 by anywhere from 1.5x to 4x.

So far I don’t think I’ve actually pushed the M1 GPU to more than about 90% capacity, but I am concerned about being able to live into this machine for projects I haven’t conceived of yet. I’m currently working primarily at 1080p.

The Mac Studio Max is available with more graphics cores. I’m trying to understand how Ebo uses the cores… and if more cores would be worth investing in. And is core usage different depending upon the number of channels/overlays… and different if those channels/overlays use stills or vids for source. Does the number of effects per channel also influence core usage?

BTW, ProRes encoding appears to be much smoother with M1 Max and I’m able to use Syphon again without the audio garbling I experienced on the Intel rig.